Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Culture and public services are considered two of the principal investments made by governments. Even if health and education are priorities, I strongly agree with state funding in other sectors like arts, music and theatre. It is not only about surviving and having good qualifications, but also about nurturing the culture and making it richer. I consider that authorities must finance both aspects of life. Firstly, besides access to a good health program and education standards, people deserve to live a happy and enjoyable life and governments should guarantee this aspect in their societies. For instance, the organization of different social events during a public holiday where the nation can celebrate through typical meals, music and activities are incredibly important to maximize the joy related to a historic day. This kind of investment is not a waste of money at all, given that it strengthens the culture and the national identity. Secondly, of course, some countries are in a very complicated situation and need to focus on providing their citizens with basic needs. However, I am referring here to those countries that are quite developed or fully developed in which cases they can distribute the expenses in diverse sectors of the economy. For example, in my country, two new hospitals were inaugurated this year, one orientated to children and the other one to oncologic problems; but also founded one art museum with a multi-function space. As I mentioned in this example, I consider that governments should get a balance between public services and cultural investments. In conclusion, the states have the responsibility to develop every aspect of the economy and society, including great logistics in public services as well as administrating various sectors of the culture. It is a matter of getting the balance to promote a happy, healthy, educated and cultured nation.