Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Nowadays, wasting food is a major concern in developing countries. Million tons of food are consumed daily and enormous amounts of waste are being dumped. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the causes and solutions related to the above-mentioned statement. There are two main causes to waste food in today's fast-paced world. The first one is the overall high annual earnings of people which means people have more disposal and purchase more food as disposable material. As a result, like other things, food may be wasted by individuals. For instance, annual salaries in developing countries have increased from £50 to £1000 in recent years, so people eat out more and spend more money on food, but at the same time do not eat all of them and throw them out. In addition, the culture of throw-aways increased in society. Although Thrifty behaviour is forgotten in society, it is more in the field of food consumption. Therefore, wasting food is prevalent among societies. There are some solutions to prevent wasting food material. To commence, general public awareness is the most effective method to reduce food waste. This can be accomplished with TV advertisements, social campaigns, and school programs that can provide educational support to individuals who are involved in this issue. The government has the most liability on the issue. For example, an advertisement created by WHO (world health organization) which was illustrated in many colleges in the UK, decreased the volume of wasted food tremendously in every province in the UK in 2009. Subsequently, awareness of individuals will become a priority in our campaign for wasting food. In conclusion, I reiterate that high individual income and throw-away culture are the main causes of food waste and general awareness can lessen this.