Some people say it is manufactures' and supermarkets’ responsibility to reduce the amount of packing of products they sell and others say it is the consumers’ responsibility to avoid buying products with too much packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, packaging has become a serious matter for the environment. While some people argue that products need to be lightly packed in industries and stores, others think that the customer should avoid buying those goods which are heavily packed. In this essay, I will discuss both views and share my opinion. Instead of spending too much money on proper packaging, industries must find alternative ways to pack their final goods. Each product needs to have the perfect package in order to reduce waste. For example, Amazon, one of the largest e-commerce companies, delivers its goods in a much larger package compared to the size of the product. For this reason, the shipment costs are bigger and, in addition, the customer gets more responsibility to dispose of waste properly. On the other hand, consumers should also take responsibility for the environment by choosing more environmentally friendly packaging like reusable or biodegradable bags. This can be achieved if they start carrying their own bag to the supermarket, which will lead to a fewer consumption of plastic bags. Furthermore, people need to focus more on the quality of the product rather than the packaging. For instance, if there is the possibility to buy fruits and vegetables in paper bags instead of plastic, we should take it because the paper is a more recyclable and reusable material.  In conclusion, I fervently believe that both supermarkets and consumers should focus less on the package by providing us with a more biodegradable package or even those that can be used more than once.