The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the past, corporal punishment was commonly used by parents and teachers in order to let children behave well. These days, the use of physical punishment is less prevalent, but some may think that it should be used to improve children's behaviour and I strongly disagree with it. Without a doubt, corporal punishment is one of the effective ways to let kids remember the consequence of their undesirable behaviours and stop them from being naughty. For instance, when a child does not hand in his homework or does not want to eat vegetables, teachers and elderlies would hit their hands with a ruler and force them to follow the rules. However, never should we overlook the negative impact of corporal punishment. Children who usually receive physical punishment may have a higher chance to become violent when they grow up and they may think that violent behaviours can solve different problems. When they become parents, they may hit their children excessively and create a vicious cycle for later generations. Another reason why teachers and parents should not educate teenagers through physical means is that it may induce stress on children and affect their mental development. None of us is perfect and everyone would make mistakes in their life. During children's developmental stage, adults should encourage them to have the courage to step out of their comfort zone. If children would receive physical punishment whenever they make mistakes, they would only focus on learning how not to be punished instead of learning proactively. Also, they may lose their confidence and be scared of communicating with teachers and parents after being punished by physical means, in long term, it will affect the relationship between adults and children, thus children will bottom up their feelings toward others, thus, their mental health will be affected. Rather than punishing children by hitting them, we should always be patient in teaching children by explaining the consequence and influence of their bad behaviours.Building up a good rapport with kids is one of the essential steps in teaching them, while hitting them may not help with it Under this line of thinking, although corporal punishment can improve children's behaviour in short term, I think it may induce harm to their development and I believe there are other ways to teach them.