Technology provides us a lot of means to communicate. But now that people have the ability to talk to each other in a wider variety of methods, our communication and social abilities have taken a step back. Why does technological advance hurt nontechnical communication? How can we solve the problem?

It is irrefutable that technology has enabled us to communicate with one another in several ways, regardless of physical distance. However, not only have our social presence and interaction been substantially affected but also it has led us to spend less amount of time with our family as well. To tackle this problem, the use of social media should be limited and face-to-face meeting should be spurred. A multitude of rationales could be cited why technological enhancement has destroyed social communication, one of which would be that it may have a disruptive impact on our interactions. As digital platforms have boomed, many users would prefer to use them to reach out to their acquaintances and even their families as opposed to physically arranging a meeting to do so. Although this would be justified, when either of them is thousands of kilometers far away, it will deteriorate the sociability of individuals accustomed to holding their meetings on a regular basis, irrespective of the distance, as the in-person conversation requires several abilities which are neglected on online one. Another reason would be that technology would make us dismissive of our loved ones as we do tend to visit our close family on Whatsapp versus face to face. Numerous steps can be taken to address the problem, one of which might be that the time spent on social media as a means of communication should be restricted so that it can be allocated to enrich family ties. As a case in point, iPhone has an option by which you can limit access to social apps. The next solution would be that the onus is on the government to set some encouraging plans to value in-person activities by outlining the downsides of excessive use of telecommunication. In conclusion, technological development has badly damaged our personal interconnection due to the given reasons and the trouble could be solved if both consumers and the government pitch in.