In poor families, teenagers may have to work part-time as well as study. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this for these teenagers.

It is a common issue among underprivileged tutees that they usually study and work together. In this essay, I will highlight both pros and negative aspects of this trend along with examples. To begin with, the very first advantage of doing study and a temporary job is that they give financial aid to their family. Since such students’ parents could not support their families well enough and earn enough cash to run monthly expenses. Thus, by doing so they reduce a slight burden on their shoulders. For example, 40% of the poor background teenagers provide tuition to school children, in order to reinforce their parents financially, according to our country's local NGO survey. In addition, such activities grant them in-depth knacks of money-saving strategies. To explain, most youngsters splurge a large amount of cash on shopping, watching movies, going out with friends etc. which is obviously a waste of time and budget. Hence why doing work along with study make them skilful in how to save the bosh. On the hand, this development has some cons, one of them is they will be less focused on their studies. As they will consume a large part of their time at work and doing two things at the same time spoils their life routines. Ultimately, they will be unable to concentrate on their learnings. To cite an example, 30% of the pupils who are underemployed in major tertiary educational institutes of the UK, get demotion due to low grades, as per Oxford university's recent press release. Secondly, it can cause mental stress. As they will not get proper sleeping and the imbalance between classes and the workplace will put a huge weight on their brain, which reason many mental ailments. To sum up, studying and working together have plus points such as funding assistance for families and it will create skills of money savings, while in disadvantages it will make them less concentrated and can cause tenseness. I personally feel that the drawbacks of this outweigh the positives due to the fact that it will divide their mind into many things and it can make worst their final results.