In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children nowadays is greater than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Today people on average wait longer than in the past to have their first baby. As a result, the age gap between generations is widening. Despite certain drawbacks, I believe that this is primarily a positive development that can benefit both parents and their children. Parents who choose to have children in their late twenties or early thirties are better prepared to support their families financially. Unlike previous generations, who often became parents in their early twenties or even as teens, today’s parents have time to complete their education and develop professional skills, making them more likely to earn a higher income to support their children ’s upbringing and future education. Assuming parental responsibilities at a more mature age also means that adults have time to accumulate the greater life experience required to become good parents. They better know how to communicate with others and how to control their emotions and therefore can become more patient and understanding parents. Children also benefit psychologically from growing up in more stable families. Proponents of earlier parenthood usually claim that when the age gap between parents and children is too wide, people may not see their grandchildren grow up, children may be forced to look after their elderly parents from an early age, and families may lack understanding due to the generation gap. Although these arguments have their merits, I believe that these problems are more pronounced for the minority of couples who have their children in their forties or fifties, and society in general benefits from people having children at a more mature age. To conclude, the social trend of having children later will likely continue in most countries. Although it increases certain risks, I still see this as a predominantly positive development because more mature and financially secure parents can better support their growing children, giving them more time and attention and better opportunities.