Many people still believe that riding a bicycle is the best way to get to places -What are the advantages and disadvantages of riding a bicycle?

Travelling has become a paramount part of people’s lives, whether it is from one country to another, inter-city or within the city. People spend about an hour daily travelling from the workplace to their home and vice versa. Among the many modes of commute, a bicycle is believed to be the best method of commuting within the city while others oppose it. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of the same and also talk about why I think that bicycle might be the foremost manner of conveyance in some situations but not in all. The pros of the former view are health and expenditure. Since people are becoming more obese due to their lifestyle that includes sitting jobs and fast foods, it is a great way for coping up with an individuals well-being. Even if the person does not have time to exercise, then too riding the bicycle to work or any other place to commute will improve his/her health. Moreover, it is pocket-friendly as well since it does not consume fuel, is cheap to purchase and does not require high maintenance. To exemplify, a company in Pune started a fitness league and asked its employees to come on cycle for 2 weeks and the results were astonishing. Employees felt more refreshed and active throughout the day and were happy since it was very cheap. On the contrary, the cons of the viewpoint are time and illness. The way of living in recent years has changed drastically such that even 5 minutes are very important. So riding using a bicycle could result in wastage of time when time is of utmost priority. For example, If I am running late for a meeting at 9 am, I would prefer going through a car or a bike that will make me reach there in 10 minutes than a cycle that would take 30 minutes. Moreover, people who are physically challenged or ill are not able to use a bicycle as a mode of transport. In such cases, other ways of transport prove to be the best. To recapitulate, I think that even if the bicycle is a great way to commute to maintain health and expenditure but it is not always possible to travel using it due to time and illness constraints.