In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

There is a debate about whether adolescents should be accompanied by a parent if they want to stay out after a particular time at night. In my view, while in most cases parental supervision is necessary, this is not always the case. On the one hand, most teenagers crave excitement and are easily induced or encouraged to participate in illegal activities which bring such a feeling. This might mean that some less-informed young teenagers maybe tend to take part in some night parties where they are supplied with some drugs. In another word, due to the lack of maturity, adolescents are in higher danger of taking part in illegal activities. For example, an article in USA news illustrates that the percentage of addictive drugs which are used by teenagers has increased after midnight. On the other hand, too much parental involvement in this matter can have a negative impact on teenagers ’ independence. Mature teenagers, who are 17 to 19 are able to stay outdoors during the night to experience something new and learn how to protect themselves from threats. Moreover, accompanying an adult is unnecessary when adolescents spend their time at night in their neighborhoods or known places if they are safe. For instance, a researcher displayed that adults' over-controlling can make adolescents uncomfortable and dependent and it continued in their adulthood. Therefore, staying outdoors at particular times could be beneficial for well-aware teenagers to gain various experiences in different situations. On the whole, a curfew is proposed in some American areas to avoid teenagers from being outdoors at special times. I believe, although some adolescents are not mature enough and the risk of taking part in illegal activities is high, some of them can spend their time during the night without the supervision of any adults to gain new experiences and learn how to behave in different cases.