Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that the extinction of flora and fauna is our main environmental issue. Meanwhile, the rest contradicted the idea and agreed that we have to pay more attention to other environmental problems. I think global warming and climate change bring more major impacts rather that the reduction of creature species. As greenhouse gas emissions blanket the Earth, they trap the sun’s heat. This leads to global warming and climate change. The world is now warming faster than at any point in recorded history. For instance, Australia experienced extreme heat until it fired the woods area. As the result, many animals and plants were burned dead. Furthermore, the South and North Pole glacier has been melting gradually and scientists found ancient viruses that have been trapped inside the ice for years as a consequence of the melting process. Researchers are now trying to assess them which may harm living creatures, even human beings. All of these causes then will lead to another problem, which is the reduction of species diversity. The variety of plants and animals has been deducted regularly and environmental change has contributed to it. As their habitats are destructed, food sources are reduced as well and starving them to death. For example, the burning woods in Australia will not only vanish their vegetation but also the herbivore animals since their food is gone. The carnivore then starved since their prey does not exist. Moreover, the forest fires probably scorched some rare animals and plants as well. To sum up, global warming is the most important thing to consider since it caused many other matters, and flora and fauna extinction is one of them.