Some people think that people should be given the right to use fresh water as much as they like. Others believe governments should strictly control the use of fresh water. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are differing opinions in regard to the freedom to use fresh water. Some believe citizens should have the right to use fresh water freely, while others assert that the state should regulate the amount of fresh water citizens can use. This essay will discuss both of these arguments and explain my thoughts on why the government should manage the use of freshwater. On the one hand, some see the right to fresh water as a basic human necessity. According to the UN’s International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, the right to water is an essential human right and all signatory nations of the covenant must ensure that their citizens have unrestricted access to fresh water. Thus, the governments of those nations are obliged to guarantee that their citizens can use fresh water in any amount to meet their fundamental needs such as cooking, cleaning and drinking. If citizens are not afforded adequate access to fresh water, it would be tantamount to an infringement on human rights and these citizens will suffer greatly as a result. On the other hand, others believe fresh water is a scarce resource and should therefore be controlled by the state. The global supply of fresh water is dwindling with each passing decade due to numerous factors such as the greater frequency of droughts and the increasing demand from a growing population. According to the UN’s estimation, the majority of the world population will reside in water -stressed regions by the end of the 21st century. Hence, the scarcity of fresh water should be addressed by the government through the promulgation of policies and regulations intended to prolong the supply of water in the long-term. In conclusion, I believe that though people should have access to an adequate amount of fresh water for their survival, the state should intervene in not letting some people use too much water as this can lead to others not having enough of it.