In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

To begin, most countries have longer-life people instead in past decades. Few people believe that the governments are faced with consequences by an older population but others think that elderly communities have benefits for society. There are many advantages of elders as well as a few disadvantages of having elders. I will discuss both views in detail in upcoming paragraphs. However, it has some benefits for society related to their experience and knowledge because they have spent a whole life in many years then youngsters can learn about lifestyles and histories. Also, they have contributed to the economy and civilization by paying taxes in past years. Not only do they reduce pressure on youth employment but also they give opportunities for volunteerism and mentorship. For instance, experienced individuals provide their knowledge by organization with seminars and they teach about personal relationships. Nevertheless, there are a few disadvantages of having an ageing population because they increase healthcare and pension costs. Moreover, if they strain on social welfare systems then it decreases workforce and productivity in the civilization. Furthermore, they depend on younger generations and they lack technological adaptability because they do not know how to use modern gadgets. The government is paying the highest amount for an old age allowance then it affects the system because if the authorities save this money then they build infrastructures for youth. For example, the government makes few policies for investments during their services and after retirement, the authorities pay this money as an old age allowance with interest to the elders. In conclusion, senior citizens give benefits to the communities along with experience and knowledge. It is clear that there are some advantages for senior citizens beyond the disadvantages.