Task 2: Parents give more freedom to their children nowadays than they do in the past. Is this a negative or positive development. Answer with reasons and personal experiences......

Family education is always a heated debate. Nowadays, there is a tendency that more and more parents are willing to listen to and respect the opinions of youngsters, which gives teenagers more space to make choices. However, when we outweigh the pros and cons of doing so, personally, I feel moderation is a key factor to be taken into account. First of all, more spaces meaning more choices will definitely bring drawbacks to children who are not mature enough to differentiate what is wrong and what is correct. In old age, parents were following the traditional educational way, which is to inherit what they learnt from their parents and pass it to the next generation. This is something reasonable as it's also parents ' obligation to guide young people instead of letting them attempt. For example, there is a survey indicating that 80% of crime commitment is due to neglect from family. This is strong proof to illustrate the importance of the supervision of parents. On the other hand, gaining more space and trust from parents can make children more independent. If parents can be tolerant of children and allow them to make mistakes, it will be a very efficient and direct way to let them understand and learn what is right, compared with endless talking on theories only. Furthermore, in this way not only can they boost their problem-solving skills, but they will take more responsibility to think carefully before making any decision. In conclusion, every individual deserves the respect for their thoughts and opinions, regardless of youth or adult. However, this does not mean parents should leave everything to young people to decide and not give necessary advice. As parents, proper interference and rules are required, thereby exploring and developing a healthier education method and system.