New technology have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

The advent of technology has led to some changes in how children spend their free time, compared to the past when technology was such a new thing in our life. In my point of view, its benefits definitely surpass the drawbacks on certain sides. First of all, take a look at the disadvantages that this change brings to children. Children's health may be affected by the high energy visible from technology devices. Watching television for more than recommended hours, for example, is one of the most aspects that lead to eye diseases and other illnesses-related. Moreover, it takes away their family time and friend time, which is negatively affected their development. Children will tend to spend more time playing video games instead of having a talk with their parents, or less time playing other outdoor activities with their friends as usual. However, the advantages of it still surpass the negative effects on children when they have free time. Firstly, it changes the way they get knowledge, through the Internet and technology tools. Children nowadays can learn and read about different information by surfing the Internet and using smart devices. Secondly, it can be a way to help them relax after school time. Listening to music on different networking sites such as Youtube, and Spotify, for instance, is an effective method to enjoy free time and relaxation, which is contributed to strengthening their mental health. Finally, children can form new relationships when they are free, by using technology. Social media sites like Facebook can help children make new friends from around the world, and develop their friendship even though they cannot meet in person. In conclusion, it can be clearly seen that technology has obviously changed the habits of children when they are in their free time. Even though it exists some certain drawbacks, the benefits of this trend still outweigh its negative sides, and support children in their free time.