Organized tours to remote places and communities are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for local people and the environment?

Travelling has been an important part of human life since prehistoric times. Especially, for the last decade tours of exotic spots of nature and remote tribes have been gaining some attention. While there are certain benefits of this for native inhabitants and the environment, it is mostly a disadvantageous trend. First, the increased popularity of tours is good news for the local economy. It creates many potential employment opportunities for people dwelling in the area. In addition, these travels can motivate visitors to increase environmental awareness and support conservation programs. For instance, Yellow Stone park and Niagara Falls in the US have been turned into reserved areas because of public support which was triggered by tours to these places. In short, the popularity of travels to natural areas and exotic communities may bring about positive changes for them. However, had the organized tours not damaged the area, the need for such conservation campaigns would not have emerged. Exotic places usually possess a very delicate ecosystem, and the high volume of visitors would be detrimental to them. With an increased amount of littering and erosion, these ecosystems may be left in danger of deteriorating and eventually dying out. When it comes to indigenous tribes, when tourists introduce the elements of modern societies, these cultures may be degraded and lose their sustainable lifestyle, which would reduce cultural diversity on the planet. So, despite its merits, the trend has serious minuses for people and target places. In conclusion, the growing popularity of travel to exotic parts of the world and cultures may have certain positive effects. Yet, they are dwarfed by the negative outcomes of this development.