Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they get released from prison. Why is this the case? What possible solutions can you suggest?

The crime rate is doubling on a global scale, with many ex-offenders committing criminal acts repeatedly. In my view, this public nuisance stems from a lack of rehabilitation and employment opportunities, but governments can undertake proper measures to help ex-criminals successfully reintegrate back into society without re-offending. There are compelling reasons behind increased recidivism. One obvious factor contributing to this problem is the lack of rehabilitative treatment in prison. To be more specific, while fulfilling their prison terms, people are not receiving educational and psychological training which would allow them to have social and moral standards. Consequently, their unchanged anti-social behaviour tends to prevent them from turning into law-abiding citizens. Another valid reason is connected with unemployment. Without finding a rewarding job after imprisonment, ex-offenders might encounter financial difficulties and, thereby, fail to cover their living expenses. This, in turn, can inevitably predispose them to crime. Governing bodies can generate viable solutions to deal with recidivists, however. Policymakers and practitioners should implement a policy of zero tolerance and impose strict punishments, which can act as an effective deterrent for ex-offenders. Capital punishment, for example, should be incorporated into the justice system. Furthermore, governments ought to broaden employment possibilities for ex-criminals and incentivize entrepreneurs to hire them. This, as a result, may help people with bad histories to meet their financial needs and make a fresh start. The sooner governments implement these measures, the better results will be gained. In conclusion, although a scarcity of rehabilitative programs and job opportunities drives ex-offenders to recidivism, I believe there are feasible ways in which governments can tackle this issue. That being said, this problem will continue to compromise our safety as long as governments do not give ex-criminals a chance at rehabilitation and proper employment.