as countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the advantage of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for the environment?

Nowadays, a growing number of households own at least one car as living standards improve. The vehicle ownership has such prime benefit as bringing convenience to life, however, its drawbacks, like causing traffic jam and air pollution, outweigh its advantages. People can live more conveniently with a automobile at hand. In other words, whoever has a auto can go to anywhere he wants at any time he likes, without being restricted by the schedule of public transport. For instance, before I bought a motor vehicle, I had had to get up at 6:00 each morning to catch the bus at 6:30 in order to go to work without being late. There were ten stops on the way and the whole trip costed about 30 minutes. Nevertheless, after I bought a Volkswagen SUV, I could get up at 6:40 and drove nonstop to my workplace within 20 minutes. Although self-driving gives people more freedom in terms of travelling, it causes more problems to society, like road congestion and environmental problems. That is to say, the increasing number of private cars cannot go through the roads at one time and theirs exhaust gas causes air pollution. For example, most people in Shanghai, a metropolitan city in China, afford to buy their own cars. However, the transport infrastructures there have limited capacity and cannot handle too many motor vehicles in rush hours. People then spend more time waiting instead. Besides, emission of particles into the air which are detrimental to the environment and people ’s health. Obviously, we shouldn’t seek convenience at the cost of sustainable development and long-term interest. In conclusion, increasing car ownership could overwhelm transport facilities and cause serious environmental problems, thus causing more harms than benefits.