A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans. On the other hand, other argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various need, including uses for food and research. What is your opinion?

In recent years, there has been a vast increase in discussions between people about animal rights. Although the exploitation of animals as food, medicines and experiments is common nowadays, this has had a harmful effect on them. First and foremost, people have no moral right to kill or experiment on animals. Supporters of medical research would argue that animals can assist in discovering new drugs or medicines. Due to new fatal or hereditary diseases, doctors and scientists should find some ways to struggle with them. While this may be true to some extent, it is unethical to have experimented with animals because they are alive and have the same rights as humans. If we had killed or carried out research on people, this would have been a crime. In consequence, as humans cannot be killed, it is also regarded as animals. This brings me to my second point. It is sometimes said that mammals should be cloned to improve genetic engineering and prevent some diseases which are related to DNA. This may be true. However, researchers have shown that after being cloned, an animal might die in a few years as the sheep Dolly did in the 20th century. I would argue that the manipulation of genes and the growth of artificial organisms lead to negative consequences which may occur with animals. In conclusion, I believe that humans will realise that the mockery of animals is unethical, and aggressive and reveals improper behaviour. We should encourage them to preserve animals, particularly those that are endangered.