Some people believe that the biggest problem facing cities is the increasing number of cars. Others say there more serious problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about what is considered the most difficult for urban communities. Even though the increasing number of cars in cities has resulted in traffic on major roads, I believe there are major issues of concern such as; pressure on social amenities and increased crime rates. On the one hand, there are several reasons why some individuals think that the growth in the number of automobiles is the biggest concern for urban dwellers. For instance, a high number of cars on roads leads to traffic jams which prevent people from getting to their various workplaces early. For example, personally, Monday mornings are my worst days due to heavy traffic on the road to my workplace. This often affects me while discharging my duties since I get to work late and tired. On the other hand, there are other serious issues than the aforementioned which are of importance. Firstly, one of the major challenges facing urban dwellers is the high pressure on social amenities. Due to the high number of people moving into urban areas, a lot of pressure is put on infrastructures such as schools, hospitals, and roads. This means that funds that will be used for other developmental projects will be allocated to maintaining these structures. In addition, the number of criminal activities is on the rise in urban districts. For example, a survey conducted in the Greater Accra Region of Ghana in 2021 showed that the number of criminal cases increased significantly compared to the previous years. In conclusion, some groups of people are of the view that the biggest difficulty facing urban dwellers is the growing number of vehicles, in my opinion, there are more severe problems such as the increase in the number of criminals.