It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

It is not uncommon for small local shops to compete with chains of supermarkets and online shops. I believe that this may cause a decrease in the local shops ' total amount of earnings, but local shops have some advantages over other types of shops and I believe they could promote them in order to solve the problem. In the past local shops were used to sell items to those who live nearby them and this allowed local communities to earn more money. Developments were possible with a larger amount of money available. So the rapid development of supermarkets and online shops affects the way and the speed in which a community may expand. One clear example may be the farmer community. A decrease in sales means that farmers are not able to buy new machines or hire new workers and this affects their development. On the other hand, local shops have many qualities that larger shops cannot have. Firstly, I think that smaller shops have a higher quality, moreover, this quality is certified, because they acquire products directly from local producers. Due to that clients can be sure of buying fresh products instead of imported ones. In addition, clients are able to know in which conditions people who produce or harvest these products work, or if they are paid enough for their work. In conclusion, I think that the development of local communities is the activity most affected by this problem, however, local shops have the right instruments to improve this situation.