Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

It is debatable whether or not it is beneficial for countries to focus on building specialized facilities to train talented athletes, instead of providing facilities that all citizens can use. I believe both are valid and the government should keep a balance when it comes to the sports policies for the top athletes and for the public. On the one hand, specialized training facilities can help to train the top athletes for the national sports teams, and potentially produce some of the world's best athletes in their chosen sports. Moreover, joining in major international sporting events can bring a great amount of prestige to a country and honour its citizens as a victorious community. For example, from the reports of international media, we can see how the citizens of the victorious countries of the World Football Cup, such as Brazil and Argentina enthusiastically celebrated their victories. Perhaps for them, no matter how much money they spend on training the national football team, it is worthwhile. On the other hand, others claim that this is a negative development for most citizens. Building specialized facilities for elite athletes means that funds are taken away from that planned for all populations. For instance, in Taiwan, the government prepares more than 100 billion NT dollars for the sports budget for all citizens yearly. It is clear that doing sports can help people to keep healthy and as a result, reduce the general expenditure of national health care. If the money for the public is redirected to training elite athletes, all the citizens may have not the same opportunities of participating in sports, which could have a negative impact on the general health of citizens. To sum up, I believe that government should maintain a balance between investing in specialized facilities for training elite athletes and providing enough sports facilities for the population.