Although there is a lot of software available today that can translate from one language to another, it is still necessary for people to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In current times, we all are living in a technology-driven world where we are relying on technology for everything. We have also seen software available in the market that can help you with the translation of any language. I strongly believe that it is certainly imperative for people to learn a foreign language irrespective of the prevalence of such technology in the market. This essay will elaborate on the reasons for this opinion. It is undeniable to say that learning a language is a gradual process that aids in the development of intellect. Research has clearly suggested that an individual knowing more languages possesses more IQ. While I agree that by using the software you can translate any language in no time, learning a language also adds an experience for the person. For example, Using translational software will change one language to another without explaining the context, grammar etc. On the contrary, if you learn a language, you will be exposed to context, grammar and many other aspects of learning a language. As we all know that learning a language will provide you with exposure to context. This will definitely aid in understanding their perspectives and cultures and can develop as open-minded person. For instance, when you learn the french language,especially from a native speaker teacher, you will not only learn the nuances of the language. You will be learning many different aspects of french culture. This will also assist you while you are travelling to another country. To illustrate, if you know french. You will be able to experience more about their culture if you speak their language and hence, it will be easy to travel to such countries where English is not dominantly spoken. To conclude, that language acquisition is a task that adds value to your learning and also helps you to evolve as a person as you are able to know others' perspectives and values. It also assists in making your travel more joyful and easy for other countries if you know their language.