The best curriculum is not one based on a static body of knowledge, but one which teaches students to cope with change. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some perspectives, compared to fundamental knowledge, the acquisition of capacities to cope with change is more important. I disagree with such opinions since both aspects of teaching should be valued equally. On the one hand, fundamental knowledge, including mathematics, science, and biology, is essential for students to extend their studies based on it. Such as the capacity of calculation, which help students to have a better understanding when they learn more sophisticated subjects, be it financial analysis in business fields or graphic design in construction areas. For example, in the UK, the government planning to make math classes one of the main subjects in schools until students are in ninth grade to ensure young individuals have better capacities for financial arrangements in the future. On the other hand, it is not enough for students nowadays to take only traditional education without gaining the capacity to tackle changes, such as the effects derived from the development of modern technologies. Instead of sticking to the knowledge in textbooks, courses should prepare students for the fast-changing workplace, where new work positions are spring-ups while many existing job opportunities may be replaced by high-end technologies. For example, the governments in Taiwan provide various subjects for young individuals to get familiar with different job positions in the real world, for them to convert the knowledge learned from courses into practical usages, including short internships in local businesses, and subjects for students to start a business on campus. To conclude, even though the fundamental subjects are crucial for young people to equip with fundamental abilities, which help them to explore more possibilities in the future. The value of the courses providing students with practical knowledge to cope with change in modern societies should not be overlooked since it could increase the competitiveness of the younger generation in the real world. Therefore, I disagree that schools should only focus on teaching students to tackle change.