Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes if this? How can this problem be solved?

Around the world, many major cities have been facing the problem of overpopulation in recent years. The reasons why urban areas are overly populated are countless, but improvements in medicine and immigration play a major role. To tackle these problems, governments can promote family planning and improve the quality of life in the countryside. A fundamental reason for overcrowding is the advancement in medicine. For example, in the past, people with such serious diseases as cancer, and diabetes could not live for a long period, but now, advanced medicines are making longer the life expectancy of ill people meaning fewer people are dying each year. Another factor contributing to this widespread problem has to do with immigration. To be more specific, as many businesses are based in urban districts, workers relocate to those areas in search of higher-paying and a better standard of living as well as access to educational and medical facilities. As a result, cities seem to be perfect places for ensuring better health, future prospects, and better living conditions. However, there are various ways in which this issue can be dealt with. First, governments should limit the number of children people have by implementing a one-child policy like in developed countries such as China. This type of government intervention would help lower population growth. Another way to combat overpopulation is by investing in improving the quality of life in rural areas. In other words, governments should provide rural dwellers with ample opportunities for education and health care along with encouraging business owners to establish their businesses in those parts of the countries. This, in turn, would broaden employment opportunities and people are likely to continue to lead a life in the countryside. The sooner we apply these solutions in practice, the sooner we can prevent cities from becoming overpopulated. In conclusion, although the population in developed cities has recently soared, its root causes, including immigration and medical improvements, can be addressed through governments making an investment in poorer districts and formulating policies about childbirth.