Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air polution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Global warming has significantly caused panic amongst masses. People are suggesting various measures to mitigate this serious concern. Some people have suggested that having an international car-free day once every year is an efficient method which can help in reducing the air pollution. This suggestion has not been well received by many. They debate that this would cause inconvenience with transportation and there are other serious measures which are not being considered. People who are in favour of this recommendation state that air pollution is majorly caused due to the harmful carbon gases emitting from automobiles. The data disclosed by NASA revealed that about 61% of the air pollution is down to automobiles and their engines. Therefore, having a day off driving will bring down the presence of harmful gases in the atmosphere. Furthermore, having global car-free day would cultivate awareness and responsibility within people towards preserving our planet. This reality check is must needed. Although it is imperative to reduce air pollution, some people respond back by stating that there are far more effective measures which should be implemented rather than having this one day event. Some people state that the governments and all the responsible organisations should encourage the automobile companies to manufacture cars which can be operated on renewable energy alone. Through this, people would conveniently travel without bothering about environment. In addition, people argue that an international plant a tree day would be a better option as most scientists also claim that plantation directly contributes in solving the problem of air pollution. In conclusion, whether or not to have an international car-free day is a contested discussion. Some claim that cars and trucks not operating for a day would help in reducing air pollution and educates masses while other tend to state that there are better measures like opting for renewable energy and plantation. After thoroughly examining both the sides, I strongly believe that it is better to consider other rational and long term options rather than expecting a single day's gimmicks to be fruitful.