A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that people are judged based on their social status and personal wealth nowadays, and traditional values, namely integrity and honesty are being forgotten. To a certain extent, I would agree with the fact that folks are valued based on their wealth and status these days, but I also believe that old-fashioned values still play an important part in our societies. It is believed that we are living in the pop culture and materialistic era these days, as the public judge each individual based on his/her social position and richness. It can be seen from how celebrities become famous nowadays. Many celebrities are popular because of their physical appearance and personal wealth, for instance, Kim Kardashian. Her reality television program never shows any world-class acting quality, but only shows about her luxurious mansions and fancy cars. And then there are other celebrities who are well known due to their social status as the son or the daughter of a wealthy family. One of the examples would be Paris Hilton. Although she has many bad attitudes, she is still popular because she inherits the assets of her parents. Although traditional values like respect for others, responsibilities, honesty and integrity seem to be of least importance nowadays, they still play an integral part in many communities. Moreover, in common cases, employers are still assessing their potential employees based on their hard-working attitude, positive behaviour and their integrity. Furthermore, business people are still looking for business partners who are reliable, can be trusted, and are dependable as well. Therefore, it is important for adults to educate their children about these positive values because they still play an essential part in the societies. In conclusion, even though people are judged based on their money and social rank nowadays, I do believe that old-fashioned values such as honour, respect and trust cannot be eliminated from our daily lives. Thus, we must teach our young generation about these cultures, in order for them to survive and succeed in the future.