Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views about the netted impacts of those events staged for people around the world such as the Olympic Games. In my view, I think the advantages of hosting such events outweigh the disadvantages. Admittedly, it is financially difficult for those poorer countries to organize an international event. However, those with affluent budgets can always possibly beat other competitors to become an organizer. For example, we have never seen an African country hosting World Cup, but meanwhile, Carta which makes fortune out of its rich oil reserves can gain the honour staged the 2022 World Cup. In short, the inequality in economic capability is embedded in the process. However, I believe multinational events show more positive impacts. Firstly, they can unite people all around the world. For instance, the Olympic Games and World Cups trigger people ’s passion for sports every four years. While cheering for athletes from different nationalities, people appreciate the original virtues of humanity and see the world as a family. Secondly, the hosting country can make use of the large-scale influence to rebound or prosper its economy. In addition to the revenues from ticket sales, hospitability, entertainment, and tourism sectors, local governments and enterprises can also use the time to showcase their economic potential, as well as advanced technologies in front of foreign visitors, just like Beijing did in 2008. Lastly, global participants can learn from innovation exhibitions promoting edged technological advancements like the annual CES in Las Vigus, and academic conferences that warn people of the most urgent global issues faced by a majority of populations, such as environmental protection and social inequality. To conclude, though some negative impacts are coming from international events, I would argue that they should continue for they benefit a broad range of populations, gearing up people ’s sense of community, and spreading cutting-edge and educational knowledge.