Subjects such as Art, Sport and Music are being dropped from the school curriculum for subjects such as Information Technology. Many children suffer as a result of these changes. To what extent would you support or reject the idea of moving these subjects from school curriculum?

Recent years witnessed some changes in school courses that some subjects, including art, sports and music, are not contained in the current curriculum anymore, with other courses concerning technology taking the place. Since it can be detrimental to pupils' development, I tend to disagree with this measure. It is understandable that non-academic lessons might be considered unnecessary and should be replaced by other courses that are more pragmatic. To begin with, non-academic curricula like art, sports and music cannot contribute to students directly since they are not included in the college entrance examinations and only some geniuses can do well in those subjects. By contrast, thanks to the advent of the Internet, chances are that everyone has already been aware of Internet skills, which will be beneficial to their future development. Therefore, minors of school age are not likely to neglect information technology classes where they can master practical skills and benefit much for sure. Nevertheless, the upsides of non-academic courses should never be underestimated and they indeed can exert positive impacts on students ' growth. Firstly, it is an ingenious way for students to escape from severe academic pressure by attending art and sports classes. Being highly focused on academic study all day long can bring some perils to pupils' mental world because they do not have the opportunity to release their stress; however, non-academic courses allow them to recharge their mental batteries. Secondly, some adolescents are really inept at any academic lessons, while art courses are their specialised areas and provide them with other possibilities, such as becoming artists in the future. Provided that this group of students cannot receive this kind of education at school, they can hardly gain a foothold in society. In conclusion, despite some merits of replacing non-academic courses with other subjects, I firmly believe they are essential parts of education and should not be dropped out of the school curriculum.