Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air polution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that pollution is increasingly becoming a major problem in todays world. While a few people believe that the quality of air can be improved by adopting an international car-free day, others believe there are additional ways to do so. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and explain my support for the latter with examples. On the one hand, those who think that having a car-free day is effective might support this for a number of reasons. One of them might be because of the deterioration in the air quality. They might argue that doing this puts a hold on the emission of harmful gases. For instance, gases such as carbon monoxide and chlorofluorocarbons which play an essential role in pollution are emitted in negligible amounts. Because the emission is stopped for a whole day, the nature gets time to reset itself and thus reduce the pollution. On the other hand, In my view, there are an array of methods that we can try which can be effective against air pollution. For example, the government can introduce new reforms in environmental laws and policies and take stringent action against those who violate them. In addition, they can encourage the citizens to use public transport instead of private ones. If the administration decides to take these steps, it will not only reduce pollution, but it can also lead to a significant improvement in the management of natural resources. In conclusion, although a day without cars can be a significant step towards improving the air standards, In my opinion, there are several other ways which can play an important role such as introducing strict laws and encouraging people to adopt public transport.