Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why?

Some people believe that country investment in developing path system could have more flaws, while others suppose that enhanced public transport structure is more useful. In my opinion, more finance should be involved in increasing the number of buses, subways and trams, than promoting better options for personal autos. First of all, it is clear that more public transport can carry more people which will reduce traffic jams. For example, if hundred people are driving to the centre of Riga with their machines, they will probably waste some time crossing the bridge. In case all the hundred will commute by bus, the bridge will be empty and no jams appear. Furthermore, buses and trolleybuses are traveling through a personal road that is empty almost all the time. Where the train runs on rails and only decelerates at the stations. Secondly, less count of mechanical vehicles on the roads reduces air pollution. For instance, if more people prefer to use trains instead of automobiles, this will significantly diminish the volume of poisonous gases produced as well as decrease the amount of gasoline consumed. This will possibly lead to the global costs of oil reduction. Moreover, developing ways and high-speed roads will jeopardize human life even more due to the boost of car accident occurrence. The more vehicles are running, the more bumps might appear, so the less security on the road is. That is why improving the roads and highways won’t be a better option. To sum up, developing path infrastructure will have more drawbacks, providing more risks to car crashes and increasing air pollution. This is because enhancing public lines will be a better option for a bigger number of people transitioning and maintaining higher security on the road.