The best way to help under-achieving pupils is to have compulsory after school activities which they must attend. This way they will become more involved in schools and their grades will improve. To what extent do you agree?

Education plays a vital role in the overall development of a person. However, some students do not realize its importance till they get lower grades in their standards. There are certain ways for improving their results, which also include after-school activities. But I do not completely agree with the statement. The idea of having activities after school seems to be a good one, but students should not be engaged in learning sessions only. This will not only restrict them to studies, but also they will lack in physical activities. As a consequence, the rate of obesity will rise among children and their health will suffer. Moreover, they will not have enough time to play games and socialize with friends. As a result, their mental health will also suffer. For instance, research was conducted in 2010 regarding the behaviour of students, and those engaged in less co-curricular activities got lower grades and suffered from serious health issues. Alternatively, if both learning and sports periods are conducted after school that will lead to more positive results. There will be a platform for guidance on the material taught during the classes, hence it will help to memorize the course. Also, extra informative sessions can be arranged with the students to improve their knowledge. For example, there might be a class for general knowledge, history, geography social sciences and other relevant topics in order to have an insight into current affairs. Furthermore, there should be games and sports periods as well, in order to maintain their health. As a result, students will be more social and active. In my opinion, after-school activities must be conducted by keeping into consideration that both the physical and mental growth of students is essential.