Some people today believe that the world's increase in population is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Other people believe that world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world's economy and society.

The population of the world is ever-growing. Some people think that this increase has created an unsustainable situation and it will lead to a global crisis. While others believe that only through an increasing population can the world's economy and society develop. This population increase is not constant around the world; the population is undergoing significant growth,especially in less developed countries, and the continent of Africa is predicted to undergo the highest rise. Many individuals living in these less thrived countries frequently face shortages, such as water, food, heating, cooking fuel and medicines, and people have to live in substandard living conditions by Western standards. With more inhabitants, these dilemmas will become exacerbated and helping these countries may also create strain on the resources and economies of other countries. On the other hand, many countries are unable to reach their economic potential due to a lack of skilled workforces. For these countries a growing population can mean a stronger economy, due to that, a better standard of living. Rising populations could not only lead to a growing demand for goods but also allow economies to expand. The problem is, however, these countries that are in need of labour forces and increasing demand are already the more developed countries and they meet some of these needs by immigration and exporting goods. To sum up, while certain areas of the world are in need of larger workforces to develop their economies, the continuously rocketing population could potentially lead to a crisis within countries that already provide for their inhabitants.