Discuss advantages and disadvantages of children to make own choices

People make various kinds of decisions in their life that might have negative and positive effect. Children are encouraged to make decisions according to what is right for them and it can have some pros and cons for them. In this essay, we will elucidate merits and demerits of making their own choices in the following paragraphs. To commence, if children are given the choice to decide what they want to do with their life, it would make them independent and get a hold of their life. Children would become more confident and analyse their choices practically before taking the final step. Furthermore, when individuals do something on their own it would help them to be more mentally resilient. To exemplify, in western countries, parents give the choice to decide what they want to eat when they go to a restaurant which enhances their decision making ability. Hence, the above example vividly illustrates the benefits for children who make their own choices. However, when children make, their own choices they might have to go through a tough time as they could have a sense of fear for their future decisions if something goes wrong in the past. Secondly, it might impact their decision making skills and rely on other people’s advice about their matters which would increase their need for dependence. In conclusion, when children decide things for themselves it would make them more confident and resilient towards stress. On the flip side, it could be mentally exhausting for them to make their choices and create a sense of fear for future that could impact their ability to make choices.