People today are not as fit as they were in the past. What are the causes of this? What can governments do to deal with this issue?

In today’s era, most people are not healthy compared to the previous times. This might be due to mental or physical conditions like anxiety, diabetes etc. In this essay, we will discuss reasons and steps adopted to solve this issue in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence, hectic work schedules keep individuals engaged in work for long hours due to which people do not have time to work out. Moreover, food items available in the market tend to contain artificial ingredients which are unhealthy. Similarly, most of the work nowadays, is done by machineries that restrict the body movement by making individuals lazier. For example, the availability of junk food chains has increased tremendously because of which public tend to consume it more often. Hence, the above-mentioned example vividly illustrates the why people tend to be unfit than the past. To address the second question, government can adopt plethora of ways to improve the situation such as they can organise awareness campaigns spreading knowledge about how unhealthy lifestyle can impact one’s body and mind. Secondly, they arrange fitness or yoga sessions in the neighbourhoods that can be free of cost for everybody which could motivate individuals to join them. To exemplify, many state governments in India, have installed public gyms in park that are accessible for everybody. Hence, the aforementioned reasons substantiate the solutions that can be implemented in order to tackle the situation. In conclusion, unhealthy lifestyle impacts one’s mental and physical health. In addition, the availability of machines has made pupils less active. However, numerous policies can be exercised by the authorities to mitigate this problem by organising campaigns to educate the public about the risks of unhealthy way of living and organising fitness classes for all age groups that are free.