It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university what are advantages and disadvantages?

In recent times, the rate at which undergraduates have a gap year between high school and the university is increasing massively. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this rampant decision made by undergraduates. Firstly, one of the merits of having a gap year is personal development. This gives the undergraduate more time to develop personal skills and vocational skills of interest. For example, the information Technology field is a very lucrative field presently, in which a lot of skills can be learnt like, graphics design, web development, programming and a lot more. Also, this could be a time to gain some work experience, have practical experience of how money is earned and develop work ethics and professionalism. This puts the undergraduate on a certain level of exposure and maturity amongst his or her peers in the university. Besides, this is also an opportunity to learn about finance when salary is paid. On the other hand, the gap year can result in a drop in academic capability and knowledge, which is a disadvantage to the student because it will be a little difficult to level up when back in the education section which is the university. In addition, this could lead to a complacent attitude towards furthering education, the reason being that there are other engagements at hand. From my experience, a break in academic years could cause limited job opportunities in the nearest future for an individual. In conclusion, it is best for an undergraduate to make a decision on the bases of the advantages and disadvantages discussed above and based on what is needed at that period of life.