Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Recent years have witnessed an increase in the number of illiterate people. From my perspective, being unable to read or write brings perils to this group of people and society as well, and governments can take several steps to resolve those issues. Illiteracy will exert negative effects on both individuals and society. To begin with, it is detrimental to those citizens' future development. Being confronted with fierce competition, it is extremely difficult for people without reading or writing skills to hunt for jobs as they are not even qualified for simple paperwork. Additionally, this can also affect social stability. Provided that this group of people keep failing to seek decent jobs to raise themselves or support their families, they might have the predisposition to commit crimes, such as robberies, in order to meet their daily demands. Some feasible methods for government are suggested as follows. To eliminate illiteracy, governments can introduce relevant policies to promote compulsory education around the world. All school-aged children’s right to learn will then be ensured regardless of gender, nationality, or family finance. Secondly, more public advertisements concerning the significance of literacy can be invested by the government. Since the advertisements can remove geographical barriers, they can call for a worldwide joint effort to raise the public's awareness of reading and writing, which can guide the masses to develop these competencies and reduce the illiteracy rate to a large extent. In conclusion, the phenomenon that a great many people are devoid of reading and writing abilities will undoubtedly trigger off severe problems. Governments need to shoulder their responsibility and adopt effective solutions as soon as possible.