In many parts of the world, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s modern society, some parents tend to give their children more freedom than in the past. I personally think that the positives of this are more significant than the negatives. On the one hand, there are several detrimental effects of giving children more freedom. To begin with, children can make a lot of serious mistakes. They often think they are mature enough to make decisions by themselves. Therefore, if they do not have guidance from their parents, children can make mistakes easily. Additionally, children can become people with immoral behaviour. One of the main reasons is that they do not have standard education and encouragement from their parents. For instance, children who do not have management from their parents on a regular basis may be tempted to use illegal stimulants easily. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that the beneficial effects of giving children more freedom than in the past are more considerable. First, children may have the opportunity to access society sooner. This means that children can talk with new friends to connect with more relationships and they can learn how to communicate. For example, after children talk with a businessman, they can know how to communicate more formally and professionally. Second, children can try a lot of fields that they have an interest in. They can choose what they enjoy and develop it sooner. To illustrate this point, if a child plays sports well and he is really patient and talented in these sports to become an athlete, this can help the child have a lot of money. In conclusion, although there are several demerits when children are given more freedom than in the past, it is my firm belief that the merits are weightier.