In the past, the role of a teacher was to provide information. Today, students have access to a lot of information. There is, therefore, no role for teacher in modern education. Do you agree or disagree?

Teachers have always been crucial to the process of getting an education, especially because they were considered to be the reservoirs of relevant knowledge. However, in recent years, information is available at everyone's fingertips because of the Internet and hence some think that learners can learn on their own. This essay is going to argue that learning without teachers is next to impossible. On the one hand, while material on every conceivable thing can be found on the Internet, its authenticity cannot be verified by inexperienced learners. Additionally, learners cannot perceive the scope of information that they need to choose from the resources that they are referring to, without the guidance of a teacher. More importantly, just having access to information does not ensure its learning. For example, an instructor simplifies theories, illustrates them with models, processes them for retention and provides question triggers which allow students to access the retained knowledge. Hence, an educator is indispensable to accessing learning. On the other hand, it was clearly evident during 2020, that teachers were not available to students as they were previously because of COVID. The schools were closed and classes were conducted remotely without physical interaction of the teacher with her wards. Additionally, online resources and apps were made available to them to aid the internalisation of concepts. The whole exercise proved to be a failure however because when they got back to school post-COVID, it was discovered that students were way behind the age standards for learning across subjects. Their writing skills were dismal and studies found huge gaps in their knowledge. Teaching by experts therefore cannot be dispensed with at any level of education. In conclusion, while data is openly accessible to those who want to learn something new, it is impossible to do so without a teacher who alone can explain the complexities and intricacies of concepts and theories.