Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people in the world think that always telling the truth is the single most desirable character trait. I personally think that there are several situations, in which lying is not only morally acceptable, but necessary. In this essay I am going to explain why lying is normal in any relationship. First of all, there are a lot of situations where somebody simply cannot tell the truth, even if the person wanted to. Everyone knows how challenging it can be sometimes to surprise someone. Because in those situations you are forced to lie, in order to not spoil the surprise. I recently hired my fathers dream-car for his birthday. To get to the rental-company, we needed to drive 30 minutes. This gift is something that works out way better as a surprise instead of just telling what we are going to do. So, of course I told him that we are going to do something totally different. He was prepared to go to a casual lunch with me. I lied to him to ensure he will be surprised. At the end of the day it worked out perfectly well and would have been so much worse if I would not have lied. This is a simply and well-known situation in which lying is acceptable. My second reason why lying is inevitable sometimes is in business. There are situations where you are not allowed to tell the truth. Lets say a businessmen signs a non-disclosure agreement with the company he is working for. Consequently, he is not allowed in a business meeting with a partner to talk about the things he garuanteed he will not talk about. Therefore, the relationship is not harmed, because everybody understands why he is not allowed to talk about certain things. Another justification for lying would be a political relationship. Similiar to the NDA the business men signed, some politcians, especially in a global enviroment, cannot provide all information to the public. This is mainly for safety reasons. We could assume that there is a huge political dispute between the US president and the leader of another county. They are fighting about a trading route and it is almost escalating. This discussion happens behind closed doors, because if the public would know about the situation, it would cause panic. Therefore, in the next conversation with a journalist, the president has to lie and states that everything is ok. Otherwise, this could cause a disaster. As a result, the lying of the president is very important.