Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the literacy of youngsters deteriorates because of the emergence of communication devices such as smartphones and computers. I totally agree with this claim because these gadgets might deprive teenagers of time to concentrate on learning including writing and reading and become them to make them develop inferior habits of using informal vocabulary and grammar. The main reason I believe that these communication devices are harmful to young people’s development of literacy is that many adolescents have a risk to become an addiction to internet surfing, it means they will lose time learning cognitive skills such as writing and reading. Even though these devices provide some writing and reading materials like electronic novels and blogs, most young individuals spend their time on vain activities, including watching videos, checking social media and chatting with friends. For example, In Japan, as a national statistical survey, high school students’ time studying has been shorter than that of a decade ago when there was no emergence of such a device. The second reason why I consider this gadget as a negative material for young people is that there is a risk of acquiring the wrong writing and reading skills. Nowadays, in social media, there are numerous informal words with wrong grammar, such as sentences without subjects. In addition, many younger people consume their almost time using these words, and they can not write formal sentences, such as essays. For instance, in the US, as a recent research, 30% of secondary school students cannot utilize “a” because they do not use it through social media. In conclusion, I reiterate my strong viewpoint that using laptops and smartphone aggregate the learner’s literacy because it steals time to study and promote students to acquire inappropriate writing and reading skills in terms of words and grammar.