Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

At present, people have divergent opinions about receiving further education in a college. Some individuals hold the view that it is beneficial to graduate students' future development, while others contend that it can be a blessing for the masses and society as well. From my perspective, I reckon that advanced education in universities can exert positive effects on the public and society in equal measure. On the one hand, attending universities can bring various benefits to graduates. To begin with, when interacting with their peers and tutors on campus, young people can learn how to compete, collaborate and compromise with each other, which can enable them to stand out from the fierce competition in the job market. Additionally, it is the universities where youngsters can access a large number of pragmatic courses. Due to the fact that the majority of professions require their employees to have relevant qualifications, only when people master professional skills and obtain relevant degrees successfully, can they have the opportunity to gain a foothold in some specific areas. On the other hand, as for the communities, the merits of a university education cannot be overlooked. Firstly, compared with people dropping out of school before entering college, citizens who have bachelor's or master's degrees are more likely to lead to the prosperity of the economy, as they have received a well-rounded education and can apply what they have learnt to practice. Secondly, higher education is also related to the advancement of cutting-edge technologies. Majoring in scientific subjects, such as chemistry and artificial intelligence, those students can make contributions to investigate scientific research, thereby surmounting some thorny issues like several contemporary fatal diseases. In conclusion, in spite of divergent opinions towards university education, I am adamant that both college students and communities can benefit from it.