Children can learn effectively by watching television. therefore, they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. to what extent do you agree or disagree.

For the last few decades, technology has evolved a lot and so have learning methodologies. Nowadays, children have a vast amount of options to choose from to learn something new. Some people believe that it is an efficient way to learn from the programs broadcasted on television and children should be motivated to see them wherever they are. I completely disagree with this idea and will support my opinion with examples. First of all, televisions have other programs running on the other channels which are not appropriate for kids. Students might get distracted because of this. For instance, children have a tendency to change the channel to see the programs they are interested in. As a result, their study gets affected seriously.Apart from that, kids see television by seating on a couch or lying in a bed. They may lose interest in physical training and outdoor sports. For example, In India, recent surveys show that children are far less interested in outdoor gaming and they prefer to watch television. Therefore, this may affect their health in a very serious manner and may suffer from some diseases like obesity. Last but not least, television screens emit blue light. This light is responsible for some dangerous diseases of the eyes and is not curable. For example, there was a recent case where a man in the UK lost his eyesight because of excessive exposure to blue light. Consequently, children may get affected if they are exposed to televisions more than required. Alternatively, Televisions provide many learning programs which are curated by experts. These programs also have examples along with visuals. Thus, it makes it easy to understand the topic for children. For example, kids remember the things which they have visualised. However, getting knowledge from television has quite limited benefits. In summary, Although, it is a common belief that children can learn many things by watching television,as far as I am concerned, I believe children should not be exposed to television as it may result in distractions, less interest in physical training and eye issues.