Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, taking care of aged people is a common issue, that’s why a number of families keep them in caring or nursing homes. In this essay, I will scrutinize, this trend plus points and drawbacks along with examples and in the end will suggest my own perceptions on this matter. To begin with, keeping elderly people in caring centres can be beneficial due to the fact that they receive proper medical attention. A sizeable number of over-60s have various ailments such as diabetes, heart pressure fluctuations etc. and family members are unable to assist them with such issues on a daily basis. Therefore, admitting to old homes provides them with perfect robustness aids. For example, In the UK 60% of over-aged people are kept in assisted living facilities to evenly take care of their health. Another point would be that it gives freedom to home residents. As nobody will need to assist them in a number of things like changing clothes, taking to toilet etc. Turning to the side of the argument, the very first downside would be that it causes them mental stress. To explain, grandparents are more attached to their grandsons, they are their only friends and they can spend some quality time with them. Thus, living far away from them makes them stressed. For example, according to Harvard medical school report, over 20% of death in assisted facilities is because of emotional breakdown. Secondly, it adversely affects traditions. It is a common thing that grandsons and daughters mostly learn norms and ways of living from their grandfathers or mothers since their parents are busy at work to educate them properly. To conclude, one should look into the pros of keeping old individuals in caring houses such as, getting excellent medical assistance and giving independence to their sons and the cons would be mental tenseness and negative outcomes on norms. However, I would say that it is our moral duty to help them out in this stage of life because they have done a lot for us in the past.