Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

It is true that today in developed and developing countries a large portion of kids can play computer games on a daily basis, and some think that this may have negative consequences, this essay will discuss that and put forward several solutions to tackle this issue. There are various negative impacts, and one of them is that playing such video games can create addiction, the reason for that is the companies who design these games create them in a way that is filled with missions and rewards after the gamer completes them; therefore, it seduces the player to keep playing for hours and as a result, children get addicted to such genre and spend more time on playing than they should. Moreover, playing games constantly results in neglecting other aspects of life, for instance, school, children always have homework to do and a lot of stuff to learn, and if a kid is not fully concentrated on that, he will eventually sabotage his future career. Parents are the first ones who should act to minimize the effects of this trend, a good decision would be to not allow their children to play video games every day after school, they should make a schedule for their kids, for example, playing once a week for about an hour, like this they can prevent them from getting addicted, in addition, governments should force video games companies to raise the minimum age required to play for several games, thus, if a parent saw that a game is for + 16 gamers, he would definitely not buy it nor allow his kids to play it, this way only teenagers and adults can play such games. To conclude, there are a variety of negative effects of computer games and steps need to be taken to tackle these impacts.