6.0 People aim to achieve a balance between their work and lives, but few people achieve it. What are the causes of this problem? How to overcome it?

Most people indeed fail in the quest to achieve work - life balance despite trying very hard. There are many reasons for this imbalance, but a few steps can be taken to achieve work - life balance. The main reason for the inability to achieve a work - life balance is that jobs have become stressful and competition at work forces people to work harder and longer than others. Technology has also made everyone more reachable and this constant connection to work has reduced the time people get to relax at home. Another culprit for this lack of balance is the materialistic society of today. People care more about the luxuries of life than spending time with loved ones. Finally, the higher cost of living has forced some people to work more and take on second jobs. There are many steps people can take to lessen their workload and achieve a healthier work life. balance. Firstly, people need to set realistic and manageable goals at work. Prioritizing important tasks and eliminating or delegating other tasks will not only save time but also make people feel more accomplished. Secondly, individuals should consider asking employers for flexible work hours and telecommuting options. This would increase their productivity and give them more time to spend with families at home. In addition, a healthy lifestyle is essential to coping with stress and to achieving work - life balance. People need to start eating well, include physical activity in their daily routines and get enough sleep. Furthermore, when people come home from work, they must learn to switch the office button off and instead do relaxing hobbies that take their mind off work like reading, gardening, hiking etc. Last but not least, downshifting, which means reducing one's standard of life for an improved quality of life, would result in more spare time and reduced workloads. To sum up, heavier workloads create a work - life imbalance but certain strategies can help people rectify this situation.