Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In my country, young people have better lives than their parents had when they were young. Use reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people in my country think that the current generation has a better life than the generation before that used to have. Personally, I believe that there was no better time to be alive. Young people are growing up in an excellent environment. My own country is a compelling example of this, which I will exlplore in the following essay. To begin with the laws, rules and restrictions that my government passed over the last 20 years. I live in Germany and we have a well functioning economy. When my parents where young, the economy was good as well, but there were major differences regarding minimum wage and working hours. Back then, the minimum wage was unreasonable low. Therefore it was not possible to live off that. In today’s world, the government ensured that everybody has a chance to live on certain standars. The minimum wage, which all companies have to pay, is high enough to not only survive, but to truly live. Of course, most people have the desire, to earn more than that. But there is no reason to stress because of money. I am glad that Germany has taken this one step further: We have something in our country called Hartz IV, which is a safety umbrella created by our country. It is an insurence, that if you cannot find work in Germany, you get money from the Government for a certain time frame, which covers for all of your expenses, including food, rent and basic needs. This is something that did not exist when my parents were young and proofs that we are living in better times. Secondly, it is incredible easy for us to raise our political voice. Because of channels like social media or the Internet as a whole, we have the chance to participate in the political debate quite easily. Back in the days, there was only Television and Newspaper, which are both controlled by older people. Therefore, it was mostly not possible to make political statements for young people. But in today’s world, we are just three clicks away from posting a tweet. This is something we should value more, because it proofs our higher life standars. Being part of the politcal discurs discourse of my country is one of the things, we should be grateful for.