Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping?

Nowadays, purchasing new products is the most desired pastime activity among the youth. They are getting addicted to it because of the advancements in shopping services and fashion trends and especially, online shopping systems made shopping more convenient than before. However, as it is a waste of valuable time and money, young people should be inspired to do activities which will be effective for their physical and mental health. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why individuals are interested in shopping. Perhaps the first reason is that shopping outlets are increasing in number. Not only that, one can easily buy items by sitting in his own house through an online shopping system. For example, Alibaba and Amazon sites are providing home delivery services, by which people can buy anything within seconds. A further reason is that fashion trends are unstable and keep changing day by day and to look updated, youngsters shop a lot. To illustrate this, brands like Adidas release products regularly and to cope with the modern world, young people go shopping very frequently. Nevertheless, our young generation should engage themselves in various activities which will be beneficial for them, such as reading, exercise or taking part in outdoor sports. Firstly, shopping can give nothing but a waste of precious time, on the other hand, reading is essential to widen our knowledge. In other words, according to a survey, it is proved that students who read very much end up having a bright future than those who are confined only to textbooks. Moreover, they can pursue activities which may be proven to make your body sound. So, young people should do swimming, play football, take a walk etc, in order to be physically fit. On the contrary, shopping can help them to look smart, but it cannot help them in any sector of life, rather it can have a negative influence. A good illustration of this is that, if they spend recklessly, they will underestimate the importance of money. To conclude, I believe shopping is necessary, but it should not be a hobby, rather youngsters should spend their time and energy on various physical and mental works.