Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, an argument has been appearing since the 21st century between two groups of individuals. One of the groups states that the primary environmental problem is the loss of biodiversity, while another group believes that there are more vital serious problems compared with it. In my humble opinion, I very much support the latter one. Primarily, the loss of biodiversity does bring a harmful influence on human society, like it can affect human food security because it can jeopardize the whole food chain. However, these types of problems that are caused by the loss of biodiversity could be included by other environmental problems such as climate change. This is because climate change fails the food harvest due to droughts or floods. Meanwhile, it is undisputable fact that climate change cause a high occurrence of wildfires, and these kinds of natural calamities definitely result in a more serious loss of biodiversity. For example, a 2020 report from an Australian newspaper, stated that up to approximately 10 thousand Koala death in wildfires happened on the Australian mainland. Consequently, compared with the loss of biodiversity, climate change obviously has become a more essential environmental problem. In addition, from a long-term perspective, the loss of biodiversity is the most vital environmental issue, since it implies the loss of gene diversity and it may cause humans will be vulnerable to an incurable disease. However, recently, a famine that is caused by soil erosion is a significantly important problem that causes an increasing number of individuals to die, especially in most African countries. So, the shortage of food that is caused by soil erosion is an emergency to address immediately. In conclusion, although the loss of biodiversity also results in numerous disadvantageous influences on human society, including the shortage of food and the loss of gene diversity, the other two types of problems are more hurry compared with it, like climate change and soil erosion; therefore, it is hard to say that the loss of biodiversity is the most vital environmental problem.