Some people think that there could be more benefits to society if more people study business than history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With all sectors in society becoming profoundly financially interrelated, the significance of studying business seems to override that of any other subjects, such as history or literacy. In fact, it would be short-sighted to encourage more students to major in business, because it is a balanced combination of graduates from all subjects that truly makes a society thrive. So, I disagree with the notion that there could be more benefits to society if more people study business than history. Admittedly, history inspires a society. By reconstructing past human experiences, historians are showing us patterns that are otherwise invisible in the present, which provides a crucial perspective for understanding and solving current and future problems. For example, understanding immigration patterns may provide crucial background for addressing ongoing racial or cultural tensions. Besides, if how profoundly people have differed in their ideas and cultural practices could be learned, an appreciation of traditions that are not our own will be fostered, deepening mutual respect among different communities. However, we should be cautious about the assertion that a diploma in history could guarantee a promising future since it is so irrelevant to value creation that they are increasingly faced with marginalization by other lucrative majors. In contrast, business knowledge is more applicable in the future workplace. No matter for jobs in services industries such as financial or law consultation or in manufacturing industries that trade with others, business expertise would always be of great help. Moreover, thinking in the same way as businessmen or economists is also preferable even for non-commercial industries due to the belief that making the most out of limited resources is always better. In conclusion, economics might be a choice wiser than history when choosing a major. Nevertheless, this doesn’t mean that studying business is the definitive way to lead societies to prosperity. After all, in this era of specialization, people from all walks of life should cooperate with their distinctive strengths from various professional fields.