Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

In recent times, experimentation on animals has become the object of many debates and people started to wonder more and more whether it is right or not to use and torture innocent creatures in order to improve our well-being. I personally think that this kind of experiments can be justified because I believe that, unfortunately, other effective alternatives don' t exist. First and foremost, it is common knowledge the fact that plenty of serious and fatal diseases such as AIDS or tuberculosis could' could t have been defeated without the support of animals. Moreover, it is thanks to the usage of mice in labs if the medical progress Some people argue that it would be more fair to experiment directly on humans our own medication since the world's fauna shouldn' t pay for something that doesn' t regard them and brings benefits solely to human beings. However, I disagree with them. In fact, from my point of view, the alternative of testing on humans is even more unethical because its consequences would reveal catastrophic. As a matter of fact, this option means endangering human lives. No one would volunteer when the risks could lead even to the death of the tester. Consequently, without others subjects, experiments wouldn' t be possible and this would represent a stopping point for medicine and science development. In conclusion, even though it is an unpleasant and sad way to do research, at the moment there are not valid alternatives to opt for and experimentation on animals remains the only efficient method that aims to improve our wellness and therefore our future.